D&D campaign advice?

Discuss your creative projects: game development, writing, film making or any thing else, fantasy related or otherwise! Talk about art you like, display your own artwork or stories, or offer help and insight.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Hedgehog Wizard
Neophyte

D&D campaign advice?

Post by Hedgehog Wizard »

Hello folks. I'm not really sure this is the right way and place to post this, but no harm in trying, right?

First, a little prelude:
I'm relatively new to tabletop RPGs and completely new to being a DM. However, my local D&D (using this as a broader term) community has been so scarce that I decided to hop right into the fray and host a campaign for two of my friends. We're 2 sessions deep right now, and I could use some advice as to how do I develop the storyline now. If this was a painting, I would find respite in knowing that I could just toss it if I failed. But this is an experience shared by three newcomers, and I would really hate to spoil that by going the wrong way.

I'm using a custom dark-fantasy themed world. The story so far goes as follows: