I Can No Longer Save My Games

Things in RTC that do not work as expected (compared to Dungeon Master) or at all! Please read previous posts carefully to see if the bug has already been reported.

Moderator: George Gilbert

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
darkling
Neophyte

I Can No Longer Save My Games

Post by darkling »

Hello. I started playing DM Return to Chaos on Monday 7/5/10 and was able to save to two different save files. I can return to my save points with no problem. But when
I try to save my progress over a previous save or new save file, the entire game crashes.

This is the error message I receive:
RTC (V0.49) Diagnostic file - Wed Jul 07 19:28:56 2010

Error:
an access violation exception.

Stack Dump:
RTCModule.WTMP();
RTC.ProgStateSaving();
RTC.DoFrame(int 109);
RTC.WinMain();

Please help me. I would like to keep playing. I loved this game back on the Amiga!
Gambit37
Should eat more pies

Re: I Can No Longer Save My Games

Post by Gambit37 »

Hi, welcome to the forums. This sounds unusual, I've not heard of this problem before.

First, are you sure you have installed the game properly? Some people have inadvertently been playing the game from within the ZIP file, you need to unzip it to its own folder. See here for clarification: http://dungeon-master.com/forum/viewtop ... =4&t=27971
darkling
Neophyte

Post by darkling »

Thank you for the kind welcome.

I double-checked and it looks like I unzipped everything to its own folder.
Stevedave83
Neophyte

Post by Stevedave83 »

I'm experiencing this exact same problem. I've played RTC in the past with no problem, but I recently reinstalled my OS (Windows 7 N, if that makes a difference) and now I'm getting the aforementioned diagnostic message.

This is the first time I've tried to run RTC since my OS reinstall. Also, I've extracted the zip file into it's own directory.
Gambit37
Should eat more pies

Post by Gambit37 »