Questions about DSB/ESB

This forum is for the Lua scriptable clone of DM/CSB called Dungeon Strikes Back by Sophia. Use DSB to build your own highly customised games.

Moderator: Sophia

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Gambit37
Should eat more pies

Questions about DSB/ESB

Post by Gambit37 »

I hope you'll allow me to start a athread for asking questions about DSB? Treat me as a complete noob, please :mrgreen:

A quick read through the text of the dungeon.lua file seems to make sense: objects are spawned in the first part of the file, mechanism are created afterwards using exvars that reference spawned items. That will take some getting used to, as RTC combines properties and mechanism of items on the same line so they are easier to find. Anyway....

1) Can I write stuff by hand in here, in any order, and it will work in ESB OK?

2) What rules does ESB use to determine the order to write the dsb_spawns in? (RTC bases it on coordinates, starting at the top left of the dungeon and working down to the lower right.)

3) Is the order and content of this file preserved when editing in ESB? Can I add comments to the LUA by hand and they will be preserved after a roundtrip through the editor and back to hand coding?

4) ESB appears to create items and exvars with incremental integer IDs. That's not very friendly for later finding stuff in the text file. Can we set our own prefixes and/or format for these IDs?

5) Will I learn enough LUA for building dungeons simply from working with the examples provided, or do I actually need to learn LUA first?
Sophia
Concise and Honest

Re: Questions about DSB/ESB

Post by Sophia »