>>> New user questions about DSB (Artist with almost no coding skills)

This forum is for the Lua scriptable clone of DM/CSB called Dungeon Strikes Back by Sophia. Use DSB to build your own highly customised games.

Moderator: Sophia

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Dezue
Neophyte

>>> New user questions about DSB (Artist with almost no coding skills)

Post by Dezue »

Heyho, you dungeon masters!
Hope you're all well :)

I'd love to make a short dungeon crawler as a side project, however, I'm an artist with only very little coding experience.
For the most part, I'd be happy with DM's standard features, I'd just like to replace the graphics with higher resolution ones and insert a fullscreen picture with text in certain spots to have a bit of story (think the story encounters in Eye of the Beholder, just without the choices).
And of course design new dungeons.

From your experience with DSB, would someone like me be able to achieve that? Or is it a tool aimed at more experienced coders?

Thank you,
Dez
Saumun
High Lord

Re: >>> New user questions about DSB (Artist with almost no coding skills)

Post by Saumun »

You can make a perfectly good dungeon in DSB with little or no coding experience. I know, because I made one myself.
ESB can handle a lot of what you need to do.
Using new graphics was fairly simple... and after you've done it once, it's like shelling peas (I should point out that I only did monsters, objects, and a couple of full screens... no wallsets).
Also, Sophia helped me out a lot.
“Grynix Ernum Quey Ki Skebow Rednim U Os Dey Wefna Enocarn Aquantana” - Anon
Gambit37
Should eat more pies

Post by Gambit37 »

Hello Dezue, and welcome!