A heartfelt thank you to this community

A forum to introduce yourself and chat to others. Also includes community announcements.
Newcomer? Please read the forum description.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Guillaume
Novice

A heartfelt thank you to this community

Post by Guillaume »

Hi all,

I started playing Dungeon Master on my Atari ST during the summer of 1989. I had finished elementary school and was going to go to middle school.
What a summer it was, with a group of friends (that game was way too scary to be played alone!) we fought our way through the dungeon.

We were bad, very bad, even with a hint book complete with maps we kept dying and often really scared of what laid behind the next door.
The going was slow and we got to level 12 before school started again. My friends then did the unthinkable: they hex edited the save to get unkillable characters and finished the game without me. I doubted that and asked how it ended.
Spoiler
Oh yeah so there's a fireball and lord chaos blinks? http://imgur.com/FAZZ3KT
A likely story. I had no way to verify that claim so I scoffed and went on.

School started, kept me busy, then life happened but I never forgot about Dungeon Master. At one time I did find the PC version and gave it a shot on DOSBOX, played the first two levels solely on memory but again something went in the way and the dungeon laid dormant yet again.

Going through old harddrives I found that PC version again and this time I thought I'd finally beat this. It had been almost twenty years so it was high time to get this done. Twenty years I hear you say. Yes, I found that odd too, so I did the math again and it hit like a truck. I wondered if anybody still remembered that game and had the same nostalgia about it as I did?