My First Solo Run

Video games, console games, mobile games or any other kinds of games including all sports. For everything *except* Dungeon Master games -- please use the specific forums below for DM chat.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Varndler
Neophyte

My First Solo Run

Post by Varndler »

Fantastic website! I'm a long time player, first time poster.

Almost at the end of My First Solo Run (running on My First OS, oops, I mean Windows XP)

I've been playing DM for many years but have always played it 'safe' before; I can't believe it didn't even occur to me to try it solo. However, I'm still a bit tentative so I'm playing safe even now and using Zed.

Many apologies if these subjects have been raised before, but I can't find any previous mention of the following things:

- Stone Golems - fair enough, they're slow, pretty stupid and easy to hit, but the weapon they fear the most is their own stone club. While the Hardcleave does consistent damage, there's nothing more fun than getting lucky and killing one with a huge 400+ blow! Makes a nice change.....(imagine the situation in real life: some human wuss attempting to lift a massive stone club, swinging and getting lucky once or twice!)

- Heavy chests thrown against doors? Pah! The best place in my opinion to get ninja levels is the Trolin passage on level 11 (HoC=1). Hurl those clubs up and down the long corridor repeatedly (you can do it one-handed, leaving the other hand for more important tasks like drinking beer). And, of course, more Trolins will appear occasionally to beat up and practice fighting/magic/even more ninja skills.

- Is it just me or is the dragon actually quite easy? Yes, he takes many, many hits but if you run round the pillar he doesn't actually threaten that much. Or is it just that I find the beast so beautiful that time passes quicker while fighting it? Hmmmm.......

And a couple of questions: