Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Questions about how to create your own dungeons and replacement graphics and sounds.

Moderator: George Gilbert

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Post Reply
User avatar
lbk
Craftsman
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:58 am
Location: USA

Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Post by lbk »

I am working on a system that changes what damaging effects hurt a boss based on a time interval. Unfortunately, RTC seems to crash (with no error message) whenever the first switch is supposed to happen.

I am wondering if RTC crashes when multiple relays/triggers/teleports are activated/deactived? For this process there are maybe 20 triggers, 40 teleports, and 70 relays that are all activated relativly at the same time.

Any input is appreciated, thanks.
User avatar
beowuuf
Archmastiff
Posts: 20687
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2000 2:00 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK

Re: Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Post by beowuuf »

In a chain that complex, are you sure you don't have infinitely triggering relays/teleporters with a zero delay? That would do it. I'd break your system up into small parts and make sure it's triggering as you expect.

I know of no limit like that on activations, but I do know nasty crashes happen for infinite recursion.
User avatar
Gambit37
Should eat more pies
Posts: 13715
Joined: Wed May 31, 2000 1:57 pm
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Post by Gambit37 »

Zero delay on infinite recursion will crash instantly. Make sure you're not doing that ;-)

It does sound like your setup is overly complex though. 70 relays and 40 teleports all at the same time? I don't know what you're trying to do, but I'd really try and simplify that if you can, it must be a nightmare to debug.
User avatar
lbk
Craftsman
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:58 am
Location: USA

Re: Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Post by lbk »

As far as I know, there is no infinte recursion, but I will double check.

On a side note, does anyone know an easier way to swap monsters out based on a timer. For instance: If there is a stone giant in a room, after 15 seconds switching it into a giggler, then 15 seconds later switching it back (and looping to repeat). My issues are that:
I need to giggler to appear exaclty where the stone giant was, and the other way around. (Not difficult using a swap global effect)
I need the monster to keep their damage, for instance if you the stone giant has 300 health and you do 200 damage to it before transforms into a giggler, I need it to have only 100 damage left when the giggler transforms back into a stone giant. (More difficult, I don't really know how to do this easily...)

Thanks.
User avatar
Adamski
On Master
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 7:58 am
Location: Italy

Re: Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Post by Adamski »

lbk, if you use "swap global fast" the monsters will keep their damage and the carried items
User avatar
Gambit37
Should eat more pies
Posts: 13715
Joined: Wed May 31, 2000 1:57 pm
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: Does RTC crash if too many relays are activated

Post by Gambit37 »

Yep, Adamski is correct, SWAP_GLOBAL_FAST will maintain all attributes that are common between the items you're swapping. It even works with turning one type of item into another type (say a monster into a rock), but the attribute conversion is unknown so you'd need to experiment with what gets copied across and what is forgotten...
Post Reply