I'm back... again!

A forum to introduce yourself and chat to others. Also includes community announcements.
Newcomer? Please read the forum description.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Mac Addict
Apprentice

I'm back... again!

Post by Mac Addict »

Hello again Dungeon Master community. I'm back after another long hiatus. 4 years since my last login, and before that, I think it was an even longer gap. I've been watching these forums for a very long time, ever since RTC was put out by GG back when I was an undergraduate in university. Playing DM and CSB again was welcome indulgence in between studying in those days. I had played DM and CSB (never finished) back on my home Amiga when I was a teen, finally seeing the end of CSB through RTC was a real treat, and playing the game was very nostalgic for me. After that, I was really into trying to get my hands on custom dungeons. I remember playing Sofia's Reactor and eating that all up, wanting another, but there were not many others that were not glitchy or broken in some way.

I think I came back to RTC years later after finishing my PhD and had a go at "Upside-down", but it was still new at that time, and glitchy, and so I had to give it up again. Since then, I got married, got a job, had two kids (whew), and now, finally, my kids are sort of semi-independent and I have time to get back to some of my old hobbies, Dungeon Master included!

So... browsing around I see that I've missed a lot of developments, but it also looks like activity has dropped somewhat. For those who are still here, what's the best custom dungeon to play? I've only ever used RTC, but maybe it's time to play Conflux on CSBwin? I never tried that one, but I did see that a lot of people enjoyed that. In terms of my skill, I'd say I'm fairly adept at DM, but not amazing or anything. Looking forward to any recommendations! :D