My CSB journey.

Discuss Chaos Strikes Back, the "expansion pack" for Dungeon Master.
This forum may contain spoilers.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
RogerS
Craftsman

My CSB journey.

Post by RogerS »

A few months ago, I started playing DM for the first time. The last thing I did in DM was killing the dragon.

It was a pretty long battle even using Hardcleave and Diamond Edge, and everyone fully buffed up on potions.

I had gotten in a position where I was following the dragon and hitting it in the back, and any time it made a move, I moved behind it. That was working fine until the dragon made a turn into a nook, and consequently quickly spun around and hit me in the face with a fireball.

By that time, my fireshield had expired, so it hit the whole party pretty hard and everyone was limping.

I decided to retreat to the other side of the lair (searching under ashes in the general area I knew that the key would be because I had looked at a map beforehand, and was able to find it) and unlocked the door to the small room where I healed up and recast the fire shields.

Even though my party was severly injured, I was still faster than the dragon, and it didn't follow me. I went back to the other side of the lair and found the dragon again, and continued the square dance with it until it finally succumbed.

By that point, I was pretty tired and my neck was hurting. I was also feeling bad for killing the dragon for some reason, realizing in retrospect that I could have probably just left it alone.

After that, I was burnt out on DM, and didn't come back to it.

Recently, after having a brief go at Conflux, I decided to try CSB, and here's a recap of what I've been up to so far. This is from memory, so I might have forgotten some details or remembering some things incorrectly or in the wrong order.