Chani sent me here

A forum to introduce yourself and chat to others. Also includes community announcements.
Newcomer? Please read the forum description.
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Mountain Man
Neophyte

Chani sent me here

Post by Mountain Man »

Wow, it's amazing that people are still playing and discussing this game.

The release of the new Dune movie made me think of how Chani was directly based on the character of the same name from Dune. One thing led to another and I found this forum.

I think I started playing this game at seven years old. I remember my sister having this intense moment the first time she was facing the group of four mummies at the end of the first level. She was frantically trying to cast a magic torch and accidentally double-clicked the FUL, so she cast FUL IR instead and BOOM, the mummies were gone. It was amazing, before that we had no idea about that spell.

After that, the fireball was my preferred way to handle any monster encounter from a distance. That is, until I met the worms a couple of floors down. How was I supposed to know they were immune to fire? I just figured they were really tough, the way they would take fireball after fireball and stay alive. I remember this deep feeling of disappointment, wanting to see the rest of the game but feeling like there was no way to get past those worms.

I think I stopped playing for a couple of years, but then tried it again and found that a combination of other attacks was successful against the worms. I was on my way again, and then the next place I really got stalled was the big arena with ghosts, gigglers, and mummies. I really felt like I had to clear out the whole room, but no matter how much I fought in there, it just seemed like there was no end to them. How was I supposed to know that every time I retreated up the stairwell, it would trigger a generator that spawned more monsters? :lol: