Page 1 of 1

BlackBones

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:06 pm
by oldteen
Hi,

First of all, I am sorry about my bad english :oops:

I am starting a new amateur project, another clone of classical dungeon crawler : BlackBones

I want to do :
- not too ugly
- per pixel lighting and shadow
- random dungeon and possibility to edit map directly in game (trap, door, light, ...)
- classic stuff : item, hidden walls, torch, monsters, door, keys, trap, ...
- a web site to share map of players
- develop a community around the project (harder to do)

actually :
- load a map
- walk smoothly (but case by case)
- can turn like a fps or with keys (classic)

My first goal it's to do a small technical demo to share on the web.
Now, I use XNA. But I am thinking about IPad...

my self :
- I am a developper
- I am living in Switzerland
- I speak french
- I love classic dungeon crawler

here some screenshots after ten evening of work :
Image
Image

// have to add screen with shadow //

my program to test my random dungeon algorithm :
Image

thanks for reading :)

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:43 pm
by Jan
:shock: OMG! "Starting" you say? "Amateur" you say? "Ten evenings" you say? Unbelievable! Incredible! It looks absolutely awesome! Please, do carry on and keep us informed! I'm very much looking forward to this. I especially like the "random dungeon" idea. The map for it looks quite natural.

And welcome to the forums! :P

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:03 pm
by oldteen
ten years ago, my final school project was a 3d engine... that help a little bit :D and XNA is so easier than c++ and directX. Before this version I have done a try with Java and opengl... but opengl give me an headache when I try to do thinks more complicated.

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 5:01 pm
by Lee
Keep going buddy, you obviously have what it takes to produce something all of us could drool over!

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:51 am
by Bit
3d-engine in school - 10 years ago...
I remember in our programmer's forum in germany that we really did mock about all those who wanted to write 3D-engines in no time. Seems Switzerland was far ahead :D
XNA - interesting, wasn't aware of it since now. Have to check it a bit.
And yes - keep it going, looks pretty fine!

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:53 pm
by oldteen
please note that my goal is not to produce a full featured 3D engine. Just draw walls with some lights dans shadow :D 100% specific for this game. (no landscape, no forest, only 90° wall, ...)

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 2:34 pm
by oldteen
here a small video about this "game"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ulbMkwu ... ture=feedu

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:38 pm
by Ameena
Cool - reminds me of the first couple of levels of Stonekeep :).

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:07 am
by Jan
Wow! It looks very good! :P

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:47 pm
by oldteen
Thanks :)
My next goal it's to give you a small demo to test if it runs correctly on different configurations.

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:42 pm
by RAF68
especially good project to continue does not stop the project is very promising :)

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:08 am
by Erik Bauer
Looks very very cool!
Keep up the good work, and if you need a tester, I have two different configurations to test it with ;)

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:54 am
by oldteen
Hello,

Thanks for your proposition of testing.
Actually I am playing to Anno2070 and in one week to new mmo star wars, so that eats all of my time :D.
I have make a version to be tested, but I have to have the courage to listen "it doesn't run, why ?"

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:09 pm
by Erik Bauer
oldteen wrote:Hello,

Thanks for your proposition of testing.
Actually I am playing to Anno2070 and in one week to new mmo star wars, so that eats all of my time :D.
I have make a version to be tested, but I have to have the courage to listen "it doesn't run, why ?"
:) I can understand what you feel. My job is to be a programmer and my greatest fear is to press "F5" in order to start the debug phase after the writing one, every time I fear finding bugs and parts that just does not work. So yes, I perfectly understand you.

But when you'll feel comfortable to show your test version to somebody, count me in ;)

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:02 pm
by RAF68
Tu peux aussi compter sur moi ;) .

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:42 pm
by oldteen
well... :mrgreen:


You can download it here (+ou- 10MB): http://www.blackbones.ch/download/blackbones.zip
Maybe you have to download the XNA 4 runtime to launch it : http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... x?id=20914

In the same directory of exe, you have a file settings.ini. In this file you can change screen resolution, enable/disable shadow and switch to low quality. No fullscreen mode at this time.

It run smoothly on my recent PC with resolution of 2560x1600 and it's playable on an old notebook in 1280x1024. No serious glitches with recent ati cards, but at work, with a small nvidia quadro fx 580, some glitches appeared :( but it's playable too.

tested on W7-64bits with AMD(ati) 6970, vista 32bits with ati 2600, W7-64bits with nvidia quadro fx 580.

Good luck!

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:48 pm
by RAF68
j'ai éssayer de le lancer mais ça ne marche pas

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:46 pm
by oldteen
as-tu un message d'erreur et si oui, lequel ?

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:53 pm
by linflas
moi j'ai celui-ci :)

Image
(pc du boulot = XP SP3 - 3Gb RAM - ATI Radeon HD 4200 - XNA 4 installés)

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:30 pm
by RAF68
Moi j'ai ce message quand je le lance :

Image

Bref ça marche pas.

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:29 am
by oldteen
okay, I have tested with a friend who has the dev tool needed and he has the same problem. I hope I can correct it easily! Apparently the error comes when the engine want to load some files, it's not a problem, at this time, with the "3d".

okay, j'ai testé chez un pote qui a l'environnement de développement et il a le même problème, ça devrait pouvoir se corriger. Apparemment c'est lié au chargement d'un fichier et ce n'est donc même pas, pour l'instant, un problème lié à la "3D"

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:28 pm
by oldteen
one question, have you got the .net framework 4 installed ? you need it to run the game. Sorry to have forgotten that :)

Actually, on Lord_BoNes PC, the game runs.

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:56 pm
by linflas
yes but the game does not work..

Image

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:49 am
by Mystic_Unicorn
Good luck with your project. It looks like u can handle it. Maybe I have in my DeepCave topic solution to your XNA problem. I had similar problems with XNA so I switched to SDL...

Re: BlackBones

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:07 am
by RAF68
RESALUT alors quand tu va nous filer une version de ton jeux qui marche ????