DM Java - Black Crypt remake

Custom dungeons for DMJava
Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Relig
Craftsman

DM Java - Black Crypt remake

Post by Relig »

I've decided to work on making a version of DMJ dungeon like Black Crypt (as it was on the Amiga so long ago).

I've never done this before so of course I'm running into some problems.

The main problem I'm having is trying to create the new images (eg. the two headed orge) to only show the picture, not the white space around the image.

I got the ogre to work in the dungeon, but not the way it should look.

I thought it might have to do with Masking but I can't figure it out.

Can anyone give me a hand on how to make these images work for me??

I'm using CorelPhoto-Paint 7.

Once I figure out how to do this, the rest will come along nicely. :wink:

Cheers!
Relig
cowsmanaut
Moo Master

Post by cowsmanaut »

how are you masking it? Using the super green colour? or Power pink? or are you trying to use Gifs? or PNGs?

depending on which you use you get different results.

if you are using a mask colour like the green or pink. you have to be aware of the antialiasing you get from most paint programs. Many of the brushes have antialiased edges. What this does is softens the edges of what you are painting but for a mask colour it also means you are painting in extra colours in. A masking colour is chosen for it's pure number. 0,255,0 for the green and 255,0,255 for power pink.

So what you get with antialiasing is a purple or green rim on your images if you don't want that you need to use a non_antialiased brush.