Error when compiling my dungeon

Questions about how to create your own dungeons and replacement graphics and sounds.

Moderator: George Gilbert

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
Post Reply
Lynelle
Neophyte
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:24 am

Error when compiling my dungeon

Post by Lynelle »

I'm having a problem when compiling my dungeon (just a test one to practice with the editor). The RTCeditor doesn't report any errors when the dungeon is loaded or saved. The compile goes through all the steps and then after the step "creating RTC module" I get:
"access violation"
the diag is this:
RTC (V0.43) Diagnostic file - Fri Sep 01 20:30:24 2006
Error:
an access violation exception.
Stack Dump:
RTC.InitSecondary();
RTC.ProgStateIntroContinue2();
RTC.DoFrame(int 7);
RTC.WinMain();
The module gets created but if I run it I get an error. (same error)
Also, the name of my dungeon in the list of dungeons, looks like
M<symbol> Z<symbol><symbol>
instead of My Zoo
This dungeon is based on GG's TheZoo but has the new updated character definitions and stuff from version .43
Thanks
Lynelle
User avatar
Gambit37
Should eat more pies
Posts: 13720
Joined: Wed May 31, 2000 1:57 pm
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Post by Gambit37 »

Hmmm, not sure about your error, but note that you can't use lowercase characters in any of the description fields as these are reserved for the spell runes.
Lynelle
Neophyte
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:24 am

Post by Lynelle »

OK thanks for the info. I changed all the lowercase to uppercase in all the description and the main data sections. So now the name looks normal in the module list. "MY ZOO"
I still get the access violation.
The error has gotten a bit larger:
RTC (V0.43) Diagnostic file - Sat Sep 02 08:48:22 2006

Error:
an access violation exception.

Stack Dump:
RTC.RestoreBitmap();
RTC.DrawDungeonFloor();
RTC.DrawDungeonView(char 15, char 7, char 0, char 2);
RTC.DoEntrance(pointer 0x00A70BB0);
RTC.InitSecondary();
RTC.ProgStateIntroContinue2();
RTC.DoFrame(int 7);
RTC.WinMain();

Not sure if that's an improvement or not :)

Lynelle
User avatar
George Gilbert
Dungeon Master
Posts: 3022
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2000 11:04 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Post by George Gilbert »

It looks like there's a problem with the bitmap used for the dungeon floor; is it a valid PNG / BMP file?

Also, are there any warnings generated by the compilation? These will have been written to a file even though it's crashed before it can display it on screen.

Assuming all of that is OK, can you send me your compiled dungeon RTC file and I'll take a look at it for you.
Lynelle
Neophyte
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:24 am

Post by Lynelle »

I haven't changed any dungeon graphics - I was using the ones that were in "THE ZOO". Don't know how to tell if the dungeon floor bmp/png file is valid, but I suppose it might have changed between v41 (when it worked) and v43 (which is crashing).
There weren't any warnings or errors in the compilation or the log file.
The only information was the diag that I posted.

I started another dungeon "LVH RTC" and copied the level layouts, characters and add on character graphics from my crashed one's txt into the new one. It's working so far - I'm debugging level 3 - so I gave up on "MY ZOO". I don't think I'll worry about it any more.
Thanks,
Lynelle
Post Reply