doors and monster generators!!!

Questions about how to create your own dungeons and replacement graphics and sounds.

Moderator: George Gilbert

Forum rules
Please read the Forum rules and policies before posting.
rob3034
Craftsman

doors and monster generators!!!

Post by rob3034 »

Hi, i am new to RTC, and i think that its amazing. jst been trying to edit a few dungeons, and this is sounds really stupid and basic.....

but...
i put a monster generator in a given square, but it doesnt seem to generate any monsters!!! and ideas???

and....

how do you associate a lock door with any given key (to open it)!!!

sorry i know these are really basic questions. also is there like a editor of some kind (aside from the rtc editor) to like in the examples when you say eat an apple it opens a door?

any ideas?
many thanks
beowuuf
Archmastiff

Post by beowuuf »

You need to target a monster generatopr with an activate effect to have it generate a monster

A wall object can be activated with any item -

I don't understand the last question - if you read sophia's editing guide on relays and action objects it should explain, but really I think you need to take a good look at the basic DM dungeon in an editor to understand how the original is put together - see how coutners and relays work and make almost anythign happen (the original building blocks) and how doors, torch holders, keyholes etc work, before you start looking to deal with the more complex wallitem_actions and the full power of the relay when using conditional parameters

Note that .txt files RTC complies can be viewed through a text editor, and the syntax is qute clear to let you see what is activating what
rob3034
Craftsman

Post by rob3034 »

ok, thanks, where can i find sophia's editing guide?

yeah what you say is exactly what im looking for (how counters/ relays work ,and how doors torch holders, keyholes work)

is all this information found in sophia's editing guide?
beowuuf
Archmastiff

Post by beowuuf »